New York Books - Fulton County
Time Voyagers(TM)Bookstore

New York - Fulton County

Click on these titles to check out books on this county.
Fulton County: A Pictorial History
Lewis G. Decker
The Glove Cities: How a People and Their Craft Built Two Cities . . . Johnstown and Gloversville, Fulton County
Barbara McMartin
The Ancestors and Descendants of James Montaney (1799-1857) of Oppenheim, Fulton County . . .
Lois Stewart
History of Montgomery and Fulton Counties, N.Y.
Heart of the Lakes Publishing
Johnstown, NY (Pictorial History)

Lewis G. Decker
Changing Works: Visions of a Lost Agriculture

Douglas A. Harper
Main New York Page
Previous alphabetical county
Next alphabetical county
Or, click here to jump to the New York counties index.

Other County Resources

Books on County Genealogy and History

Fulton Co. GenWeb Project

Map of Fulton Co. (1895)

Official Fulton Co. Website

Official Johnstown (county seat) Website

Official NY State Website

Other Fulton Co History

The present day County of Fulton evolved from its very beginning with the earth's upheaval and through the glacier period the mountains ranges were formed and the valleys and rivers were gouged out.

It evolved through its aboriginal settlements along its southern fertile boundaries and its ever present fine hunting and fishing in its northern lakes and mountains, where before the coming of the European settlers, dwelt the Mohawk nation keepers of the Eastern gate of the strong Iroquois confederacy.

The Dutch were the first to discover this new land and settle at the mouth of the Hudson River, migrating up the Hudson and eventually went into the Mohawk Valley until they were subjected to the British Crown under the Duke of York. Then this vast settlement became a colony under the English Crown and it became a provincial government, governed by a royal governor and divided into counties.

The present day County of Fulton became a part of this new County then called Albany County, named after the Duke of Albany, King James the 2nd., Scottish title and remained so until 1772. With the influence of Sir William Johnson, who had settled at Johnstown, NY, the Provincial Assemble was petitioned and the Royal Governor, Tryon, with the County seat to be at Johnstown, NY.

This new County of Tryon stretched from the original boundaries of Albany County, west to the Indian treaty line of 1768 near the present day city of Rome, NY and north to the Canadian border and south the Schoharie and P Pennsylvania Line. Tryon County remained until the close of the American Revolutionary War, when we wanted nothing to do with the sovereign of England and the name of its past Royal Governor. In 1784 it was changed to Montgomery County, named in honor of General Richard Montgomery who was killed during the Revolutionary war in attempting to take Canada as a fourteenth colony and have its inhabitants side with the Patriot cause. Many of the local militia men served with Montgomery and his army of the north and respected him. With this new County of Montgomery the county seat remained in Johnstown and now at the close of the war, stretched all the way west to the present day Buffalo.

This vast county eventually became sub-divided with newly formed counties and county seats. With new modes of travel, settlers moved west to settle these new lands and eventually the Erie Canal was opened. Following this famous canal came the railroads along the valleys and new settlements and towns and villages cropped up along these traveled routes. The old county seat at Johnstown became isolated and in 1836 it was agreed to move the county seat south to Fonda, NY, along these main routes of travel and where most of the population had now settled. This caused a division with the residents in the northern part of the county who wished to keep and maintain the old county seat at Johnstown and in 1838 an imaginary line was drawn across the county and the northern boundary was given a new name of Fulton County and restored its old original historic county seat at Johnstown where it remains today. Fulton County was named after the ingenious inventor Robert Fulton who had improved the invention of the steamship.

Today Fulton County maintains the oldest Courthouse in the State and one of the oldest in the Nation still being used today. It possesses one of New York State's historic sites at Sir William Johnson Hall and is rich in early history. It still maintains some of the finest hunting and fishing locations in its Adirondack borders and is proud of its rich farm lands, friendly settlements and industries. Fulton County has a proud past and a promising future.

Source: Fulton County Historian, Lewis G. Decker

Return to top of page


Click on the links below for book titles and history specific to that county.

From what or whom did the name of each county originate? Click here to find out.

County Date
Parent County County
Albany 1683 original county Albany
Allegany 1806 Genesee Belmont
Bronx 1914 New York Bronx
Broome 1806 Tioga Binghamton
Cattaraugus 1808 Genesee Little Valley
Cayuga 1799 Onondaga Auburn
Charlotte 1772 Albany renamed Washington in 1784
Chautauqua 1808 Genesee Mayville
Chemung 1798 Tioga Elmira
Chenango 1798 Herkimer, Tioga Norwich
Clinton 1788 Washington Plattsburgh
Columbia 1786 Albany Hudson
Cortland 1808 Onondoga Cortland
Delaware 1797 Ulster, Otsego Delhi
Dutchess 1683 original county Poughkeepsie
Erie 1821 Niagara Buffalo
Essex 1799 Clinton Elizabethtown
Franklin 1808 Clinton Malone
Fulton 1838 Montgomery Johnstown
Genesee 1802 Ontario Batavia
Greene 1800 Ulster, Albany Catskill
Hamilton 1816 Montgomery Lake Pleasant
Herkimer 1791 Montgomery Herkimer
Jefferson 1805 Oneida Watertown
1683 Original county Brooklyn
Lewis 1805 Oneida Lowville
Livingston 1821 Genesee, Ontario Geneseo
Madison 1806 Chenango Wampsville
Monroe 1821 Genesee, Ontario Rochester
Montgomery 1772 Albany (as Tryon to 1784) Fonda
Nassau 1899 Queens Mineola
New York City
1683 Original county New York
Niagara 1808 Genesee Lockport
Oneida 1798 Herkimer Utica
Onondaga 1794 Herkimer Syracuse
Ontario 1789 Montgomery Canandaigua
Orange 1683 Original county Goshen
Orleans 1824 Genesee Albion
Oswego 1816 Oneida, Onondaga Oswego, Pulaski
Otsego 1791 Montgomery Cooperstown
Putnam 1812 Dutchess Carmel
Queens 1683 Original county Jamaica
Rensselaer 1791 Albany Troy
Staten Island
1683 Original county St. George
Rockland 1798 Orange New City
St. Lawrence 1802 Clinton, Herkimer, Montgomery Canton
Saratoga 1791 Albany Ballston Spa
Schenectady 1809 Albany Schenectady
Schoharie 1795 Albany, Ostego Schoharie
Schuyler 1854 Tompkins, Steuben, Chemung Watkins Glen
Seneca 1804 Cayuga Ovid, Waterloo
Steuben 1796 Ontario Bath
Suffolk 1683 Original county Riverhead
Sullivan 1809 Ulster Monticello
Tioga 1791 Montgomery Owego
Tompkins 1817 Cayuga, Seneca Ithaca
Tryon 1772 Albany (renamed Montgomery 1784)
Ulster 1683 Original county Kingston
Warren 1813 Washington Lake George
Washington 1772 Albany (see Charlotte) Hudson Falls
Wayne 1823 Ontario, Seneca Lyons
Westchester 1683 Original county White Plains
Wyoming 1841 Genesee Warsaw
Yates 1823 Ontario, Steuben Penn Yan

Return to top of page

Main New York State Page