Time Voyagers® Bookstore

Pennsylvania Counties

Monroe County

Monroe County was named for President James Monroe. It was created on April 1, 1836, from parts of Northampton County and Pike County. The county seat of Stroudsburg was named for settler Jacob Stroud and incorporated as a borough on February 6, 1815.

Looking to further your research in Monroe Co.?
Try these book titles below.

We are currently researching available titles relevant to this county.

For general information and books about Pennsylvania, or to locate information about other counties, visit the Pennsylvania Page of Time Voyagers Bookstore Don't forget to check on the parent county from which a county was originally founded.

History of Monroe County

A brief history of this county will appear here soon.

Township Map of Monroe County, Pa.

Map of Monroe County, Pennsylvania, United States with township and municipal boundaries is taken from US Census website and modified by Ruhrfisch in April 2006.

Other Useful Monroe Co. Links

We are currently researching useful Web links relevant to this county.

Previous County (Mifflin) || Next County (Montgomery)

Pennsylvania List of Counties

Check out the entireTIME VOYAGERS BOOKSTORE for general titles in genealogy, history, or general best sellers.

Home Return to Time Voyagers home page