Time Voyagers® Bookstore

Pennsylvania Counties

Fayette County

Fayette County was originally part of Westmoreland County. It was created on September 26, 1783, and named after the Marquis de la Fayette. The county seat of Uniontown was laid out in 1776. First named Beeson's-town, it was later renamed to allude to the federal union. It was incorporated as a borough on April 4, 1796, and chartered as a city on December 19, 1913.

Looking to further your research in Fayette Co.?
Try these book titles below.

We are currently researching available titles relevant to this county.

For general information and books about Pennsylvania, or to locate information about other counties, visit the Pennsylvania Page of Time Voyagers Bookstore Don't forget to check on the parent county from which a county was originally founded.

History of Fayette County

A brief history of this county will appear here soon.

Township Map of Fayette County, Pa.

Map of Fayette County, Pennsylvania, United States with township and municipal boundaries is taken from US Census website and modified by Ruhrfisch in April 2006.

Other Useful Fayette Co. Links

We are currently researching useful Web links relevant to this county.

Previous County (Erie) || Next County (Forest)

Pennsylvania List of Counties

Check out the entireTIME VOYAGERS BOOKSTORE for general titles in genealogy, history, or general best sellers.

Home Return to Time Voyagers home page