Time Voyagers® Bookstore

Pennsylvania Counties

McKean County

McKean County was named after Thomas McKean, who served 1799-1808 as the second governor of Pennsylvania following passage of the state Constitution of 1790. The county was created on March 26, 1804, from part of Lycoming County. It was attached to Centre County until 1814 when it jointly elected commissioners with Potter County. It was not until 1826 that McKean County was fully organized and fully independent from the counties of Lycoming, Centre, and Potter. The county seat of Smethport was named after two Amsterdam bankers, Raymond and Theodore de Smeth. It was laid out in 1807 and incorporated as a borough on February 11, 1853.

Looking to further your research in McKean Co.?
Try these book titles below.

We are currently researching available titles relevant to this county.

For general information and books about Pennsylvania, or to locate information about other counties, visit the Pennsylvania Page of Time Voyagers Bookstore Don't forget to check on the parent county from which a county was originally founded.

History of McKean County

A brief history of this county will appear here soon.

Township Map of McKean County, Pa.

Map of McKean County, Pennsylvania, United States with township and municipal boundaries is taken from US Census website and modified by Ruhrfisch in April 2006.

Other Useful McKean Co. Links

We are currently researching useful Web links relevant to this county.

Previous County (Lycoming) || Next County (Mercer)

Pennsylvania List of Counties

Check out the entireTIME VOYAGERS BOOKSTORE for general titles in genealogy, history, or general best sellers.

Home Return to Time Voyagers home page